# ACT Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elected Body 2014–2017

THIRD TERM HIGHLIGHTS

## About the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elected Body

The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elected Body (ATSIEB) consists of seven members, elected by the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities in the ACT for a period of three years (current term 2014–17) and on a part-time basis.

The Chair and Deputy Chair are elected by majority vote of the members.

The updated third term members and their respective ACT Government directorates are:

**Diane Collins – Chairperson** Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development

Jo Chivers – Deputy Chairperson Justice and Community Safety Directorate

Maurice Walker ACT Health Directorate

**Ross Fowler** Territory and Municipal Services Directorate

Tjanara Goreng Goreng Community Services Directorate

Tony McCulloch Education and Training Directorate

**Richard Allan** Environment and Planning Directorate

### **ATSIEB** roles and responsibilities

ATSIEB's roles and functions ensures responsibility for engaging with and representing the needs and views of all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples living in the ACT.

ATSIEB continues to inform the ACT Government on policy, program and service delivery that impact on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities in the ACT as well as working with other non-government organisations.

The following highlights of ATSIEB actions are consistent with the statutory requirements under Section 8 of the *Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elected Body Act 2008.* 

### **ATSIEB** publications

- 1 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elected Body—Community Priorities 2014–17
- 2 *For Stronger Familes*—Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Community Budget and the ACT Budget 2015–16
- **3** Protocols for working with Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander peoples
- 4 Ongoing ATSIEB Chairperson—communiqués and e-messages

#### ATSIEB publications in progress

- 1 Draft fifth Report to Government (4–5 December 2014) ATSIEB Hearing — yet to be finalised
- 2 Draft sixth Report to Government (9–10 December 2015) ATSIEB Hearings—yet to be finalised

## **Meetings and forums**

### ATSIEB Meeting — 11 February 2016

- Establish priorities for remainder of term (June 2017)
- Develop strategies for ongoing community engagement

#### Update

- Jo Donovan resigned in June 2015 and was replaced by Richard Allan
- Fred Monaghan resigned in July 2015 and was replaced by Tony McCulloch
- Rod Little resigned in November 2015 and was replaced by Tjanara Goreng Goreng

#### Business as usual (held every two months)

- 2014–15—six
- 2015–16—four to-date

#### **Community forums and discussions**

- 1 10 February 2015—ACT Prevention on Violence against Women and Children
- 2 12 February 2015—ACT Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Community Forum—Constitutional Recognition
- 3 31 July 2015—ACT Mental Health and Wellbeing Framework—community forum
- 4 2 October 2015—CEOs and Chairperson meeting

#### Other strategic meetings

- Quarterly meetings with Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs
- Bi-annual meetings with Chief Minister and Cabinet
- Meetings with other Ministers, as required
- Annual ATSIEB Hearings

#### Achievements (linked to Community Priorities document)

- 1 ACT Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Agreement signed—joint partnership between the ACT Government and ATSIEB to address policy and program development; provide input into budget planning processes and delivery of services to our communities
- 2 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Justice Partnership signed—addresses overrepresentation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples in the criminal justice system
- 3 NSW–ACT Aboriginal Legal Service funding secured to deliver community justice programs
- 4 Maintaining and strengthening of relationships with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities in the ACT, ACT Government and NGOs—ongoing
- 5 Annual ATSIEB Hearings
- 6 Advocated for Gugan-Gulwan Youth Aboriginal Corporation to receive funding for the National Disability Insurance Scheme

#### **ATSIEB** priorities

#### (based on community engagement and member direction)

- 1 Review of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elected Body and the Act
- 2 ACT Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Older Persons Housing Project—addressing housing needs of older Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders in the ACT
- 3 Amendments to the ACT Human Rights Act recognition of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultural rights
- 4 Future use of Boomanulla Oval
- 5 Review and communicate ATSIEB Community Priorities 2014–17
- 6 Review and communicate ATSIEB Strategic Plan
- 7 Website renewal

## For more information

## **ATSIEB Secretariat**

C/- Office for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs Community Service Directorate ACT Government GPO Box 158 CANBERRA ACT 2601

Telephone	02 6205 2551
Email	atsieb@act.gov.au
Website	www.atsieb.com.au

For specific information on ATSIEB functions, members, key issues, meetings, events, media and publications please refer to the website **www.atsieb.com.au**