Election results announced

The names of the seven members to be declared elected to the ACT’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elected Body were announced today, Wednesday 21 July 2021, by the ACT Electoral Commissioner, Mr Damian Cantwell AM CSC.

“Counting for the ACT Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elected Body election took place today, using the Hare-Clark proportional representation system.  A total of 267 votes were admitted to the count,” Mr Cantwell said.

Eighteen candidates contested the election. Voting for the election took place during the week starting Saturday 3 July and concluded on Saturday 10 July 2021. Any Aboriginal person or Torres Strait Islander aged 18 or over, living in the ACT, was eligible to vote in the election.

The successful candidates in the order in which they were elected are:

  • Tanya Michelle Keed
  • Lynnice Church
  • Maurice Walker
  • Margaret Blackman
  • Jo Chivers
  • Leah House
  • Paula McGrady

The official declaration of the poll will take place at 10am, Thursday 22 July 2021, at  Boomanulla Oval, 169 Goyder St, Narrabundah. The declaration event will be open to candidates, the media and the general public.