Declaration of candidates for the 2024 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elected Body


The names of the candidates contesting the ACT’s 2024 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elected Body election were officially declared this week.

Nominations opened on Monday 20 May 2024 and closed at 12 noon on Monday 3 June 2024. By the close of nominations, Elections ACT had received 14 nominations.

The names of the 14 candidates contesting the election listed in ballot paper order are:

  • Patrick VANN
  • Paul SALEY
  • Billy T TOMPKINS
  • Deanne BOOTH
  • Helen WRIGHT
  • Ricky HAMPSON
  • Tucky Tania COOLEY
  • Kaylene McLEOD
  • Maurice WALKER
  • Vicki BRADLEY
  • Samantha Jayne KEATON
  • Braith BELL-GARNER
  • Bradley BELL

Seven members are to be chosen to represent the ACT’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community on the Elected Body.  Voting will commence on Saturday 6 July and continue until Saturday 13 July. Locations and times for voting are listed on the Elections ACT website.

For further information on the election contact Elections ACT on 6205 0033 or visit their website

Authorised by Damian Cantwell AM CSC, ACT Electoral Commissioner.



Media contact

ATSIEB Secretariat

(02) 6205 2551

Media release

07 June 2024


Acknowledgement of Country


The Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Elected Body acknowledges the traditional custodians of Canberra, and those who have made it their home. We celebrate their ongoing culture and contribution to the ACT and surrounding regions.